Nicholas Milton conducts the orchestra

ActewAGL Llewellyn Series/04 Tchaikovsky

Hear Nigel Westlake's Shimmering Blue, Rachmaninov's Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini and Tchaikovsky's Symphony No 4 in F minor as part of the ActewAGL Llewellyn Series.

This concert features Nicholas Milton, Conductor (Artistic patronage ActewAGL) and Kristian Chong, Piano.

In one of his more colourful orchestral works our composer-in-residence, Nigel Westlake, will surprise you with his versatility and intriguing harmonic juxtapositions in this concert’s opening piece, Shimmering Blue. To follow, you will experience the brilliance and vitality of Rachmaninov’s writing for piano and orchestra—Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini—one of his most exhilarating works.

The 2016 season concludes with the powerful emotional impact of Tchaikovsky’s profoundly moving fourth symphony—a semi-autobiographical work that deals with the extraordinary life of this tortured composer. Despite the miserable reality of his impossible situation, Tchaikovsky wrote: “… if within yourself you find no reasons for joy, then look at others.” “…Joy is simple, but powerful. Rejoice in the rejoicing of others. To live is still possible.” This is an inspiring conclusion to the ActewAGL Llewellyn Series.



Wednesday and Thursday: 7:30pm sharp



Book now



  • Bar
  • Carpark
  • Coach Parking
  • Public Toilet